In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

In many public places around the world, smoking is banned, and many people believe that this is a beneficial measure. This essay fully supports the statement, as it can reduce the incidence of smoking-related diseases among both passive and young smokers. Prohibiting smoking in public spaces is an effective way to decrease the prevalence of second-hand smoke illnesses. Research shows that non-smokers have a higher risk of developing lung diseases compared to smokers. This is because while smokers use filters on their cigarettes to block some harmful substances, non-smokers are exposed to the full range of hazardous chemicals in the smoke. For instance, although Indonesia is one of the largest cigarette producers in the world, the number of patients with COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) decreased dramatically after the government banned smoking in parks, schools, public transport, and hospitals. Implementing this ban will also prevent children from starting to smoke and experiencing health issues. Children can easily mimic the behavior of their parents or other adults without fully understanding the consequences. In comparison to adults, cigarettes pose greater risks for children, and it is often more challenging for them to quit once they begin. For example, in the USA, which has the highest rate of cancer cases, there has been a dramatic decline in lung cancer among patients who started smoking before the age of 18 after the first Black president, Barack Obama, introduced regulations limiting smoking to designated areas. In conclusion, establishing regulations to prohibit smoking in public areas is an excellent proposal, as it could protect children and non-smokers from smoking-related illnesses such as COPD and lung cancer.