Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

Littering has become quite common in cities, where people drop the waste on the floor or roads instead of throwing them in the dustbins. Many governments in the world are taking measures to deter it and also to change the habit of human beings for the welfare of everyone. Some people advocate that having heavy fines on violators would be a good solution. While I agree with this, I also believe that other measures such as placing more bins and educating youth need to be taken. In the first place, most people know that it is wrong to throw the waste in the open space but they continue to do for several reasons. The primary reason is that there are fewer bins in the streets and people are forced to throw the papers and poly bags on the roads. Besides, they also see so many other people throwing waste in public. Moreover, some people do not know the environmental effects of it. It is believed by some people that putting heavy fines would be an ideal solution. Although I believe that it will make the people think twice before dropping waste on floors, there is a still a good chance that it will continue if there is no security to get hold of violators and issue tickets. For this reason, it is essential to deploy more policemen in the city and also have more dustbins in the locality. Consequently, this will have an immediate impact on the current generation. However, it is essential to educate the children about littering and its impact, as they are the future of the world. In conclusion, I believe that huge penalties will definitely solve the littering problem to an extent. But at the same time, it is essential to bring awareness about it to the youth.