The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There has been contention over whether the objective of science should be to enhance individuals’ lives. I entirely agree with this view, as science has immensely contributed to the medical field as well as benefited the way that people communicate. To begin, it is true that scientific discovery has prevented people from unknown diseases. To illustrate this, the global COVID-19 pandemic, which broke out in 2020, led a great deal of people to lose their lives. However, on account of developing vaccinations based on scientific evidence, the lives of many people in the world were also protected, meaning that the negative consequence of this pandemic was minimised. As exemplified by this, it is imperative for people to lean on science to ensure our well-being, which is of paramount importance. Another realm that science has played a pivotal role in is the means of human communication. Face-to-face communication was previously the only mainstream method to interact with others. Nevertheless, technological advancement has enabled people to utilise a wide range of ways including mobile Apps, and Zooms. and other social platforms. For instance, no matter where we reside in the world, not only can we send a message to our family members, but we can also call with a video. Thus, it is the scientific developments that have brought this convenience to people ’s lives. In conclusion, science has been enhancing the quality of people ’s lives such as in the area of medical and human communication. As a result of this, people profoundly appreciate the enhancement of their lives, therefore I contend that science should be continuously kept being leveraged with the intention of improving our lives.