Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is a fact that the social network is in an outstanding position in the world as it is used globally nowadays. This has caused people to argue that whether it has a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. Indeed, I strongly agree with the thought that social websites have a profound negative effect. In this contemporary age, social networking sites have been starting hurting relationships. Rather than individual people giving quality time to their relatives or friends, they are instead choosing to take more interest in people online. As a result, relationships have become shallow. For example, in the earlier days, individuals used to have get-together at least once a month, but nowadays most of the people do not even know many of their relatives. Consequently, there are no close a slight indication clues or supportive relationships in this era. Addiction is another drawback of social networks which leads to failure in almost every field. Most of the people waste hours in front of computers or mobile phones chatting and posting on Facebook and Twitter and thus they fail to pay attention to their work. For instance, students are unable to perform their best in the exams because they spend more time online instead of studying. As a consequence, social networking sites hinder the progress of the individual and also of the society. In conclusion, although Facebook and such sites are beneficial to some extent, I strongly agree with the argument that they have more devastating effects on both the local community and the people. It is hoped that users will realize this and learn to use such platforms more judiciously.