In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement?

The popularity of digital newspaper has been skyrocketing in the past 2 years. People prefer to read the news on digital platform rather than its printed version. In my opinion, although the growth of digitalisation is inevitable, the conventional printed news will have its own market and demand. The argument against my opinion shows the fact that the number of online media accessed is increasing every day. Many big publishers like Times and Forbes shows a steep decline in physical magazine sales. On the other hand, the number of digital magazine subscriber is increasing significantly in the past 2 years. Moreover, people perceive that digital news platform being more independent. Thus, the information given will be less affected by the government or political influence. Nonetheless, the demand of printed version will not entirely disappear. Many communities living in a location that have limited access to the internet and a digital connection. People in these locations are still highly dependable to the printed form of books, magazine and newspaper. Data per June 2020 in Indonesia, there are at least 37% of Indonesian citizen that have limited access to internet and digitalisation. Not only these communities have limited access, they also think that digital information is easily tempered. Thus, they prefer to use the printed paper to get information. People come from middle to low economy segment also choose the printed variant over the digital form for people in these communities cannot afford the required digital device. In conclusion, the rapid change of person's habit towards digitalisation is inevitable. However, the growth will not entirely replacing the conventional printed version of the press.