In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they know only a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

It is argued that towns and cities are slowly taking over small villages. Close community bonds, are one of the main advantages of living in the countryside, whereas, lack of various services within short distances, is one of the main disadvantages. The principle advantage of living in a small community, is the close bonds developed with all the people living there. Everyone knows everyone within the town, hence, there is always someone to rely upon. For instance, in case of an emergency, people are present to assist and help you out. As a result, many lifelong friendships and relationships are made here. However, a major drawback is the lack of availability of facilities, such as supermarkets, hospitals, shops, within close proximity to the village. Generally, countrysides have these services stationed at large distances. For example, the average time taken to reach the nearest hospital, in most villages in India, is about 30 minutes by car. Therefore, in case of any sort of emergency, it is not possible to obtain these services immediately. In conclusion, the benefits that countryside offers, such as the bonds of close relationships, must be weighed against its drawbacks, such as the lack of facilities within small distances. In my view, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, because facilities can always be created at short distances, however, relationships are difficult to be revived once lost.