Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The topic of whether the benefits provided by social media are greater than the associated downsides is often in the news, most recently with the leaders of Facebook, Google and Twitter being questioned by US Congress. Whether these platforms are good or bad is a complex discussion, as there are a variety of outcomes associated with their increasingly prevalent usage. Firstly, the advent of social media has brought about multiple advantages to our modern society, such as better connecting friends and family, enabled by a wide range of free tools. One notable social media benefit is the ability to send invitations for an upcoming event over Facebook. Facebook events are quick, intuitive, and makes tracking and follow-up simple, especially when compared to other options such as email, or calling your friends one at a time. Connecting with family and friends has never been easier, and this is largely enabled through the availability of social media platforms. That being said, social media is not all smiles and like buttons, since there are significant problems which have emerged as social media usage has become more prevalent. One often cited issue is that of increased stress and anxiety resulting from high levels of engagement with various platforms. This is partly caused by constant exposure to unrealistic portrayals of other peoples lives, such as Instagram celebrities, leading one to question the value and quality of ones own life and achievements. In summary, there are clearly great benefits and serious downsides to the widespread availability and participation in social media platforms. While theses services have made it easier to stay in touch with friends and keep informed, these benefits are significantly outweighed by mental health problems resulting from frequent usage. Further, social media is a very poor substitute for real human contact, where going for a walk with a friend will bring much more happiness and meaning than a long discussion with a stranger over Twitter.