Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The importance of punishment in juvenile crime has become an increasingly debatable topic in modern societies, with conflict views on whether children themselves or their parents should be punished. From my point of view, while parents play the pivotal role in moulding the development of young children, it seems still important for children themselves to be held responsibilities for their illegal behaviours. Advocates for punishing parents point out the importance for parents to educate their offspring and the potential outcome of reducing the possibility for children to do anything illegal. The primary cause of this method is to give parents more responsibilities for their children’s behaviours. Parents, consequently, would teach their children about the basic laws in our community and ensure them forming a strong law-abiding consciousness. Meanwhile, whenever children intend to commit crimes, they would consider that it is their parents who will undertake the consequence. As a result, children may stop having illegal behaviours if they take care of their family members. However, only when disruptive children being punished will they learn the severe outcome of committing crimes. Foremost, different kinds of punishments play a deterrent role in educating young offenders about the importance of respecting the laws. During the process of being sentenced, for example, young criminals would understand the responsibility they need to take as a citizen in a community. While it sounds like a strict way to teach children, over the long run, it is beneficial to their personal developments. It would narrow the odds of re-offending and prevent children from embarking on a criminal path after them being liable for the illegal behaviours made by themselves. In conclusion, although punishing parents may be helpful in family education, I firmly believe it is necessary to enforce children being punished when they have committed crimes. It is the most effective way to educate children from being responsible for their behaviours, trying to eliminate the possibility of re-offending.