Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The film industry has been growing significantly in recent years. With the development of the global market, many people hold different views on whether playing foreign movies in local areas can have a negative influence on local culture. In my opinion, though reliance on domestic films can contribute greatly to the cultural development of a nation, it is too severe a restriction. Admittedly, the exaggerated exposure of foreign movies may result in the fact that local citizens are not proud of the local culture anymore. The main reason for that is because the qualities of many imported movies are much higher than local movies, reducing people’s confidence in the local culture. As a result, the stereotype that foreign culture is superior to the locals may be generated by the public. This would affect domestic movies that do not have enough value in the film market, which is detrimental to the development of local films. However, it is clear to see that importing movies from other countries is a way to enhance the connection with the world. In terms of the views of individuals, exposing to the opportunities to watch foreign movies is a way to broaden broadens the understanding of different culture, which is beneficial to personal development. Besides, showing movies from other countries may boost the chance of international collaboration. If a series of foreign movies have a good reputation in a country, some movie producers may consider combining some factors in local cultures into international movies. For instance, a Disney movie called “Hua Mu LAN”, is based on a Chinese historical story. The movie has won global interests and become a typical case to illustrate the potential benefits of the cooperation between local and international movies. In conclusion, although it is concerned that people may lose interest in watching domestic movies because of the stereotype on local films, it is apparent to me that playing foreign movies in local areas has indispensable benefits for both individuals and the country. The public should consider a way to balance, the share in the film market to let people realise more domestic movies with high qualities.