As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In the present world, there has been an increasing number of people who possess their personal cars. While I understand that this trend can bring many benefits to individuals, I believe that the drawbacks to the environment outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, owning a personal car is far more convenient for individuals under any circumstances. If they do not want to waste their time just by staying at one place and anticipating the bus to come, having their own automobiles is advantageous. For example, when a person is in a rush, using a car is far more favourable since they may be late because they have to wait for the public transport. It is also much more flexible as it is impossible if people want to change their destination while being on a bus or a train. Fortunately, a personal car will assist them to do that. Furthermore, using their own vehicles means people will contact less with others, which is really important amid the pandemic because we have to stay far enough from each other. However, it is undeniable that the growing number of people using their cars might pose a threat to the environment. The large number of personal automobiles means that there will be more carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere and more exhausted fumes on the road every day. This will severely pollute the air and have negative impacts on people's lives, especially those who are suffering from breathing diseases. A recent survey conducted by some researchers from universities in Vietnam stated that 25 percent of the causes of air pollution are fumes from vehicles. In conclusion, while there are some benefits for individuals to possess a personal vehicle, it is evident that the disadvantages to the environment outweigh the advantages.