In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping is an essential part of our life. Large Shopping malls have been opened at a wide range resulting in the closure of some local markets. This action resulted in attracting a vast number of people towards the malls. In my opinion, I think this is a positive improvement for all the customers. On the positive side, there are more benefits available for the buyers as well as the seller. The most obvious benefit is that customers have diverse options to explore all their needs. At the same time, the availability of the products in a marketplace is huge compared to the smaller supermarkets. For instance, if a person wants to buy garments, electronics, and food products, they will have various options to choose from the best. The third point in favour is the availability of goods and services will be top in quality and attractive, which are also affordable and get benefits out of it. On the negative side, after the development of large businesses, small outlets were closed due to a lack of walk-in customers which resulted in a huge loss for local vendors that forced them to finally close the shop. Moreover, there is a huge problem with car parking when we visit roadside stores which is too difficult for us to load and unload the products, but the plazas have more car parking space. For example, if the furniture shop is located in the heart of the city and has no car parking nearby to load and unload, it will be difficult for a customer to make the decision. In conclusion, even though there are minor disadvantages like lack of space for parking. They do have more advantages like opening an opportunity for adults to become budding entrepreneurs, allowing them to window shopping and giving them various choices. Therefore, I think this is a positive development for society and for shopping centres.