Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

More people mean more garbage, especially in big cities where more garbage all over the place means more cost for cleaning up the mess left over by people. Some may argue that increasing financial penalties are one thing to prevent residents from dirtying their surroundings, but in my opinion, this is not the only step. I believe that in addition to imposing fines, there are other ways like increasing attention and by providing more litter bins in common areas. Public agencies are trying to keep cities clean by encouraging people to throw rubbish into the bins provided at convenient locations and this has encouraged residents to dispose their waste responsibly. Moreover, providing these baskets at places where there is a high foot fall would additionally contribute to litter free areas. For instance, the government of Singapore was able to clean up the city by providing more garbage cans for throwing waste. To sum up, more waste cans placed in easy to reach locations would help to keep the surroundings clean. On the other hand, Local governments are also increasing public alertness through advertisements in local newspapers which increases awareness in the minds of residents on the benefits of living in a hygienic environment. Furthermore, by running these awareness campaigns close to local festivals and long holidays would generate the benefits which would help in keeping the environment hygienic. For example, the India Shining campaign run by the Government of India before Diwali was very successful in promoting a unpolluted Diwali. As a result of these advertisements, public agencies have improved awareness of the benefits of a pollution free surroundings among the public. Even though imposing of high fines is one way of controlling littering, it is not the only way. In my view, providing greater access to rubbish cans and increasing information on the benefits of a unpolluted environment would obviously improve the issue of littering in big cities.