More and more people today are moving from the countryside. Why is this happening? Do you think it is a positive or negative development

These days, the influx of residents from rural areas to metropolises is growing exponentially. From my perspective, there is a host of compelling reasons leading to this negative migration. To begin with, there is a plethora of causes accounting for the migration of suburb residents to cities. Firstly, those who migrated from the countryside to urban areas desire to apply for a job. In other words, the rapid economic growth of affluent cities is bringing about plenty of job opportunities which attracts blue-collar workers from rural areas to earn a good living in cities, resulting in improving their lives. Additionally, it is the educational purpose that appeals to less developed areas. Specifically, universities and colleges are often situated in large cities in which have a modern and convenient transport system. Therefore, parents in rural areas usually have a tendency to encourage their offsprings to leave their home to get a better education in urban areas. Nevertheless, the migration wave from rural areas is leaving detrimental impacts on cities. The influx of rural citizens from the countryside will contribute to overpopulation in cities. Consequently, this will exert severe pressure on the housing market, transportation, health care system and other aspects. Another negative effect is the prospect of an increase in the crime rate. In case people from rural areas living in cities fail to apply for a job, they are likely to commit a crime such as drug-trafficking or even human trafficking. Take Vietnam as a typical example, 39 deaths were confirmed in a refrigerated truck in Essex in the United Kingdom in 2019, which was a consequence of human trafficking caused by those people who are unemployed in a rural district in Vietnam. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are plenty of causes that contribute to the migration from rural areas to large cities, which are job opportunities and educational purposes. To curb the spread of this trend, it is highly recommended that universities and large enterprises should be relocated and partly moved to the countryside to create a balance between job opportunities in rural and urban areas.