Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers. What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

Students’ dependence on laptops and computers has increased dramatically in recent years. Over dependence on computers has raised many questions/concerns. For example, this has reduced human interactions and affected critical thinking skills in children. This essay will analyse these issues in detail and suggest ways to address them. On the one hand, interactions among people have reduced because of computers. Learners have been using social media such as Facebook and Whatsapp to communicate with unfamiliar people. Virtual interactions cannot be a substitute for face to face interactions between chat bots / communication tools cannot express emotions. For example, my brother uses social media to chat with his friends without spending adequate time with the family members. This has led to certain behavioural changes in him and he now shies away from spending time with his loved ones. Another disadvantage of overuse of computers is that students no longer remember facts or figures. They can find every bit of information online. They do not even learn spellings because word processing software programmes come with spell checkers. Unfortunately, this dependence on computers hurt the memory and reasoning skills of students. However, good parenting can prevent these problems to a great extent. The father and the mother know their children better than anyone and they can restrict the use of laptops or mobile computers. Time spend on social media has to be limited by uninstalling communication software for the laptops and mobile phones. Additionally, parents can approach councillors who can help children if they are unable to overcome their addiction to computers. In conclusion, while computers are useful for students, their overuse can cause many problems and hence cannot be recommended. Parental supervision can play an important role in preventing children from becoming addicted to computers