High stakes English language tests, such as IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer.Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your know

Computers in general and technology as a whole have made their way into our lives over the past few years. This is also true for English language tests such as IELTS, which now offer candidates the ability to appear for computer-delivered tests. It is agreed that the pros of computer-delivered tests outweigh the cons. The most direct connection of these tests with the real-world and their ability to furnish scores quickly, back up this claim. Firstly, computer-based tests are closer to the real-world than paper-based tests. One of the goals for testing, is to measure the candidates' capability to use the language in real world scenarios, and since technology and computers play a major role in every walk of life, computer-based tests are closer to actual applications of language. For instance, if a candidate is able to write an essay in their own handwriting perfectly, but they fail to type it out on a keyboard, their capability to use the expression in professional, actual life settings is hindered and undermine the authenticity of the test. Therefore, computer-delivered tests are closer to the real-world. Secondly, computer-delivered tests, announce the results and give out scores much quicker than paper delivered tests. For example, the expected time for scores announcement for the IELTS' paper-based test is 3-4 weeks, whereas, the period for computer-delivered test is well within a week. This feature is helpful and attractive for a plethora of people, including students who generally do not have the luxury of waiting for weeks to secure admissions based on such tests. Hence, it is advantageous to opt for computer-delivered tests. To conclude, computer delivered tests, offer many advantages over other kinds of tests. Their capacity to conform to real-world uses, and quick turnaround for those in need, fortify this statement. Accordingly, computer-delivered tests should be the way forward with high stakes English language tests.