Task 2 Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

These days, homelessness is one of the serious issues as the rate of homeless people is growing significantly. This essay will examine the main causes of homelessness and possible solutions to this problem. The two central causes of this issue are structural factors and poverty. Structural factors are economic and social issues that affect opportunities and social environments for individuals. For instance, key factors can include a lack of adequate income and access to affordable housing. Shifts in the economy both nationally and locally can create challenges for people to earn adequate income and pay for housing. Besides that, homelessness and poverty are inextricably linked. Precisely, people who are impoverished and frequently unable to pay for necessities such as housing, food, childcare and others. Because of structural factors and poverty, some people are experiencing homelessness. Some possible solutions to this problem are federal housing programmes and permanent supportive housing. The two largest federal housing programmes are public hosing and federal housing vouchers. To illustrate, housing vouchers allow low-income households to rent modest market-rate housing of their choice and provide a flexible subsidy that adjusts with the family’s income. Moreover, the supportive housing model combines affordable housing assistance with vital support services for individuals living with mental illness, AIDS and other serious health problems. In fact, numerous research studies have proved that permanent supportive housing costs less than other forms of emergency and institutional care. Thus, governments should address the issue of homelessness by implementing federal housing programmes and permanent supportive housing. In conclusion, today people are facing the challenge of homelessness due to structural factors and poverty. However, we can significantly lessen the issue by implementing federal hosing assistance and permanent supportive housing.