Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people think it is better to apply a fee for the museums' entrance because the managers of these museums need money to repair things and develop many parts. However, other people prefer to have no charge as they can encourage more tourists and citizens to visit the museum. The main disadvantage is that high fees exclude a large proportion of the population, especially in less developed countries. Many people in poor countries have just enough money for food and shelter. Exhibits are one of the few cultural activities they can enjoy free of charge. For example, Egypt has millions of people living in poverty, but also a rich and ancient culture and it is therefore important that everyone gets to experience these artefacts. Another big negative is that students and children who are learning about the world may not be able to visit. It would be a huge shame if art students could not see their favourite painters or sculptor’s work in real life because their finances could not cover the cost. Despite this, there are some who say that museums are unsustainable without the money they might get from ticket sales. They say that this allows the building to remain open and it is better than some people get to experience it, rather than none at all. To this I would say that the government should step in and cover the cost because culture is as important as anything else it spends money on. For instance, in the UK there have been huge government spending cuts over the last few years, but the museums have not had their funding reduced because of their importance to the country’s cultural heritage. In conclusion, although some might say that places of culture should be run like a business, the cost to the education and heritage of the country is too great and they should remain free to all.