Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, more families are letting their parents at care/nursing homes when they get elderly. Although it is important to have these places available, whether they are good or not is a debatable question. This essay will shortly point some of the actual advantages and disadvantages of this trend. There are many things that can be considered beneficial when we are talking about these places. For instance, some people at older ages may need special care because of some disease or disability. In addition, unfortunately, some individuals could be completely alone, and they may require help to keep with basic things in their routine. Therefore, having the opportunity to be taken care in these places is great for them. However not everyone is at the same condition, there are many elderly people who are completely abandoned by their family, and there is always an excuse for them. Even though people are becoming busier than ever, it should not be used as a convenient excuse to don't look after your parents or closer family. For example, there are many reasons to believe that elder people could develop a deep sadness or even depression when left in these locations. Empathy is the keyword to use here, try to imagine yourself in their place and understand how they will feel. In conclusion, while these places are an amazing opportunity for some people, as they sometimes are their only option, families should stick together and take responsibility of the ones that raised and helped then to get anywhere in life. However it is hard to judge an individual or a group of people in these simple terms, and every case should be understood separately.