Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Certain people in society argue that there should be a fixed punishment for each crime committed by culprits. Others stand against those and say that people should be penalized according to the circumstances. This essay will argue both sides and outline my opinion. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that the crime rate has increased sharply over the years. Though, it is believed that there should be strict and fixed punishment for those who commit serious offences such as murders, human trafficking, drug dealing, kidnapping, and others. A large number of individuals argue that there should be strict punishment for those wrongdoers. This will not only encourage people to not commit crimes but also the crime rate will see a dramatic decrease in numbers. On the other hand, some people always argue that the court should first look at the reason behind offences before the verdict. To put it another way, these days, a huge number of people own a licensed gun for protection purposes. Hence, it is very much likely that they pull the trigger if they feel that their or any family member's life is in danger in events like robbery, kidnapping, target killing, and such other occasions. To conclude and present my view, I agree with those who support the government to have a fixed punishment for each crime, because this will bring peace in the society. However, I also feel that the judicial department should consider the facts and reasons behind the crime and give the punishment accordingly.