You should spend 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that the difference between the lowest paid jobs and the highest paid jobs should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some say that the pay gap between high and low salaried positions needs to be decreased. I disagree, I believe that people in higher-paid positions had to work hard to get the required certifications and face a lot of adversities to be considered for that salary bracket. For example, a doctor with the decades of training and stressful work hours accompanied by the life and death decisions they make every day cannot be downgraded to the pay of a nurse or an administrator in the same hospital. As a society, we place value on training and certifications that individuals get and the unique service they provide is protected by law with a set salary by the ministry of labour. Another reason that the pay difference can’t be lessened is because of the economic impact it would have on society. If we make professions like plumbing, masonry, and carpentry with pay on par with higher paid jobs we could face the issues that are currently plaguing Australia that has made the cost of basic labour so expensive with hourly wages ranging from ninety to several hundred dollars per hour. This makes them a luxury for most middle-class households who end up repairing all their problems themselves and thus reducing employment for people who work in utilitarian jobs in Australia. In conclusion, I believe that there needs to be a balance in the low and high paid positions where there is a standardised market value like we have seen in Sweden which has a nationalised salary for all positions which is enforced by the ministry of social equality that ensures livable wages for all sectors of society.