Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Presently, supermarkets sell both local and imported foods and other products. It is argued by some that these shops should just sell products that are made in their own local areas and should not be selling foreign country foods. However, I both agree and disagree with this statement as super shops need to keep both imported and local-made foods to let the buyers choose. Firstly, I agree with this because, while there are foods available from other countries, people tend to purchase those rather than purchasing country-made foods. In other words, almost everyone has the mentality of purchasing imported foods as they have many misconceptions about national production. Secondly, the population of the country are deprived of fresh foods as they buy imported foods more than their own. Furthermore, foreign foods use a lot of preservations to prevent those from deforming which have detrimental effects on human bodies. On the other hand, I disagree with this issue because, if supermarkets keep the foreign products in the shops, people from all sectors will be able to avail their necessary foods very easily which would be impossible without the importation of foreign meals. Many foods can not be made in local areas for which one has to be dependent on these shops for buying those items. For example, although many fruits such as dragonfruit, orange, apple, strawberry etc. are not cultivated in Bangladesh, a large number of population of these countries purchase these from super shops. Moreover, by importing these food items the country helps it's inhabitants to know the food cultures of other countries which aids to gather knowledge about the outer world. To conclude, it is helpful for the local beings to be able to have foreign foods available in their own motherland and taste the foods of other cultures. Therefore, local markets should sell foods that are imported from other countries around the world.