Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this statement ? (approximately 250 words)

It is argued that the authority should take measures to solve residential and environmental problems as preventive policies faced with the spread of diseases. While I agree with this notion, I believe that other factors contribute to disease prevention as well. On the one hand, pollution and housing problems are major causes of illnesses. Firstly, due to the rapid growth of the population, homelessness has become a major global crisis that makes many people live in sheltering areas where imply substandard living conditions in terms of the shortage of drinking water, the lack of awareness of personal hygiene, and poor nutrition. Most of the homeless have health problems due to these facts and their unsanitary ambience is ideal for bacteria and viruses to multiply and transmit to the community. Secondly, owing to modernization, people often use plastic bags and eat greenhouses-grown vegetables, which causes a large influx of non-biodegradable garbage dumps and the emission of gases and CO2 into the environment. The quality of air, water, and soil that has decreased in the last decades lead to debilitating diseases for the respiratory and digestive systems such as lung cancer, gastroenteritis, and liver cancer. If the government could solve these two problems, many diseases will not have favourable statuses for their development. On the other hand, besides the above issues, I believe that other affairs must also be considered for the fight against diseases. From a society perspective, governments should improve the public health system which still has many limits, as in many countries the hospital infrastructures are dilapidated, or the check-up rates are very expensive. Taking Brazil as an example, this country has a staggering 6,500 hospitals, but more than 70% of them belong to the private sector, so public and non-profit hospitals are often overloaded with shortages of staff and equipment. From a person's perspective, each one should have a balanced diet by cutting down on fattening foods and sugary drinks. A healthy diet can protect the human body against certain types of diseases, in particular, noncommunicable diseases such as obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, some types of cancer, and prolong life expectancy. In conclusion, although governments should establish specific regulations to avoid environmental and housing problems, each human being must be aware of the need to have a wholesome lifestyle towards societies without diseases.