The grow of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

The pace of change in technological advancements has to rebuild our way of shopping. While some people believe that online shopping is in constant growth, in which at some point it will result in the closing of all shops in towns, I extremely believe that stores will still exist, due to the fact that people find pleasure when going to stores, as well as, they attract tourists. First and foremost, the satisfaction behind a walk in a store with friends or family cannot be simply replaced by online shopping. The feeling of buying new things is not only related to the action, but also to the pleasure of spending valuable time with friends, as well as, the emotion of dressing up and seeing the reaction of those that are with you when showing it. Recent research has presented statistics, in which 91% of the interviewers prefer to go shopping with friends rather than alone. Therefore, such a moment in a shop might not be easily shifted to online purchasing. Although many may argue that online shops provide a high variety of products, physical stores can be seen not only as shops but also as tourist attractions. When people are travelling, either due to business or vacation, the majority like to spend a part of their free time seeing stores and get to know the culture of the city. Due to this fact, stores play an important role in the development of the economy and would not be overtaken by online buying. Taking me as an example, I have always spent at least a couple of hours in stores, when I am in another city, to buy something that reminds me of this day there. To summarise, many might claim that online purchasing tend to be the new and unique tendency of shopping in the near future. However, I firmly believe that stores will not be replaced completely considering the pleasure provided to people and their impact on the development of the economy by attracting tourists.