Some people think that it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are those that argue that nascent individuals should be taught parenting as part of their curriculum at school. In my opinion, the future generations have the ability to change the current tangent of the world toward a better future and we as adults have a responsibility to imbibe the skills into these kids so that they become caring and responsible adults when they grow up. Firstly, there needs to be strong advocation for children to be taught basic skills like how to cook and etiquette in their formative years so that they can survive and be better adults in society. This has been attempted by making home science classes mandatory in some states in India and etiquette has been instilled in children during lunch period by their class teachers. For Example, in the USA there are subjects called auto and shop class which help individuals to learn how to repair cars and do periodic maintenance. Also, most adults in this century don't know the most basic things like how to cook a meal or to change the oil in their car. Therefore, there is a growing need to nurture these abilities in these kids so that they can face life with better confidence. Secondly, there needs to be an emphasis on compassion and a moral code that needs to be shown to these young adults through volunteer work and taking responsibility for the community. For example, students in the UAE are taken every year for a clean up drive where they are taken to areas that are littered and they are made to clean them up. This shows them that they can make a positive impact in the world.These types of initiatives show them that we need to care about society and each other. Therefore, taking these measures ensures that the future is full of people who actually have empathy and have the awareness to raise a family as a good citizen. Furthermore, for an individual to be a competent and caring parent there are some basic skills that need to be taught in school like how to balance a chequebook and how to manage financial affairs. This is an area where all adults initially fail to understand and manage. Alternatively, there needs to be work done on improving communication skills like how we present ourselves and do we actually listen to someone when they talk. Thus, with a basic understanding of how to manage income and to learn how to be responsible for others,they can become a better father or mother. In conclusion, I believe that all children need to be given the opportunity to be a better person and be a responsible father or mother to their progeny. Therefore, if we teach our nascent adults how to cook, manage money and look after a car before they leave their family to start their own life. This would enable them to start a family in a better position than others without this education.