Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The popularity of sports has gained tremendous reach in recent years. And hence many big shot companies are trying to endorse their brands by sponsoring sports as a way of advertisement. Few people are of the opinion that this trend has a positive impact while others think that it is complete exploitation of sports. There are different media through which a product or the company can be advertised. But the popularity with which a product is advertised in between a match or a live game is humungous. For instance,during international cricket premier league, the media is filled with ads of sponsored companies during each interval. Hence, it reaches millions of viewers across the globe. Hence, it gives a viewership advantage to the firm and it increases its sales. It is also found that even after the match, people identify certain company names with sports. On the other hand, there is a downside to this approach of sponsoring sports as a media of advertisement. Companies with huge capital can only afford such endorsements which can result in a monopoly in the market. Even if the product is not quality worth, the brand is getting undeserving popularity. Apart from this, a negative mark to the organisation can have a direct impact on that sports, since some players name would be attached to the brand. To conclude, in my opinion, it might be advantageous to the company being endorsed, but in the long run, it can have a negative impact on the future of sports. Hence it is better to limit the sponsorship being given to few big multinational companies and give chance to deserving upcoming companies as this will boost their trade.