Many university students have part-time jobs while they study. Is this a good or a bad thing?

More and more students take up part-time work while studying. In recent years it has become a debatable topic if there are any benefits to work while learning. I believe it is a good thing. This essay will discuss in details the positive and negative aspects of taking up a job while at university. Part-time employment can make a difference to your budget and lifestyle. There are many students that come from a poor background; hence their parent can not afford to pay for their education. Higher education nowadays is very expensive, and for a learner to progress in life, they will need to support themselves financially by taking on a temporary job. This not only provides the student with a feeling of independence, but they obtain working experience and an opportunity to network with future colleagues while learning life management skills. Nevertheless, it’s not all sunshine and rose, taking on additional responsibilities. It is important to balance your time spent at the office and the time needed to complete your studies without compromising your academic performance. For example, an employer could expect that a person is required to be at the job rather then behind the books preparing for exams. This could create anxiety which is not worth the salary you earn; hence students should negotiate flexible working hours, working less during exams times and longer hours during holidays. To conclude, in my opinion, it is a good thing to work while studying at university. Whether you don’t have a choice, as you have to pay for your studies, or you are just in for the money; nevertheless there are more positive than negative, provide that u manage your time to achieve your main goal.