Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many scientific works have shown that innate features have a higher effect on our individuality and growth when compared to any life experiences. I believe that inborn abilities play major roles in the formation of ones character. Many argue that the characteristics we are born with have more influence on our personality. The principal reason for this is that the mind and behaviour of an individual is hardwired to a part of the brain called, 'the limbic system'. It controls all aspects that make us human and therefore it is very difficult to alter this core process. A good example is a student who is left handed, there is no amount of practice that will make him comfortable doing chores or school work with his right hand because these actions originate from the brain. It is therefore clear that, innate abilities are more influential on the person we become. On the other hand, some say that our life experiences have a higher impact on our persona. They argue that if we go through obstacles in life, then we might be changed by situations that we have faced. For instance, a very temperamental person could become less volatile, if circumstances show to be unfavourable to their temperament. However, I would suggest that it could be impossible for people to change and there is probably no form of experience that could affect a person's behaviour even when they try. In conclusion, there is a clear evidence that shows that inborn ablity, such as; left dexterity plays a major role in the indentity of a person. Nevertheless, we must try to change any detrimental attribute we may possess, even though it is probably impossible to do so.