Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is thought by some people that fixed punishment should be implemented in any kind of criminal because it is a more effective way to deter crimes. In this essay, the benefits and downsides of this argument will be discussed. One evident benefit of having a fixed penalty is that it will be more objective and not depend on the judge’s opinion. That is to say, being able to afford a good defence attorney will not affect the punishment given, which leads to greater equality. For example, despite some people who commit crime have enough money to hire advocates during the prosecution, but others can not afford, the process will be taken balanced. Secondly, it is a more effective deterrent when people know the exact consequences of the crime they perform. To illustrate, nobody can think that their penalty will be light with corruption within the legal system. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having fixed punishment. Firstly, not all crimes are committed under the same circumstances. In other words, a person who plans a violent crime with clear intention should not receive the same punishment as someone who acts in self-defence. Moreover, personal circumstances such as extreme poverty or mental health should be taken into account. For instance, some offenders act crime because of financial pressure and then intended to make a living for a few hours, and it is not true to accept them as violent or aggressive people. In conclusion, while there are plus points to putting fixed punishment into action, there are also disadvantages such as self-defence, and poverty circumstances should be taken into account.