It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Some people argue that spending money on gifts is squandering, as the receivers may not cherish those gifts. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea and I believe that exchanging presents should be advocated. It should be acknowledged that gift buyers do not always make the best shopping decisions. There are a wide variety of popularly selected presents, ranging from garments, reading materials to drinks. These presents could be bought in place of what could actually cater to a recipient’s needs. In this case, buying gifts can indeed be regarded as extravagant and should not be encouraged. However, I believe that exchanging gifts is a meaningful action and should be encouraged. To begin with, It would only be wasted if shopping for gifts were done arbitrarily and carelessly. This shows that the givers do not pay attention to what the receivers fascinate about. Mindful gift purchases, in contrast, mean that the giver cares about others' interests, and the receivers are given items that are of practical use. Moreover, it is important to note that there is more to gift-giving than just the value of the present. In other words, being given a present may fill a person with a sense of appreciation, which would result in an overall improvement in their relationship with the gift-giver. The last point to add is that gifts could also be made by hand, which may both cut costs down and attach more sentimental values to the gifts rather than spend thousands of dollars paying for luxurious gifts. In conclusion, while I agree that unplanned gift-shopping could lead to wasteful expenditure of money, I believe that the act of exchanging presents is meaningful and should be continued, as long as it is done in a thoughtful manner.