Nowadays more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

It is common these days for elder people who need employment to compete with people much younger for the same type of work. While this creates problems, there are steps that can be taken to mitigate this impacts. Firstly, older people are finding it difficult to secure work, which arises because of younger people who are most likely to be up-to-date with the latest technologies. For instance, in the information technology field, technologies are updating for every two years and younger people are learning new technologies from college or university. However, elder people have more responsibilities towards their family and they are not finding time to study the latest courses. If older people can not secure work, this can leads to different problems. As they are likely to have a family and children, without proper income their education and health would be impacted. On the contrast, it is the government responsibility to take corrective actions to reduce such problems. This need to beginning with ensuring elder people have the necessary skills to compete for jobs in the market. If older people are not suitable for job requirements the government need to provide training facilities to them on the most important job requirements. Furthermore, organisations also need to change their hiring pattern and need to include elder people as they have better experience and knowledge. To sum up, elder people are impacted when there is a competition with younger people as they have a family to take care of Government need to help these people in learning new skills and employers also change their recruiting method in order to encourage elders.