Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. what are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem

Walking is considered to be the simplest form of exercise for multiple health benefits. However, nowadays a lesser number of people prefer to walk. This essay will discuss the main causes such as busy work schedules and the poor conditions of public parks. This will also suggest ways to solve these problems by having an improved work-life balance and the proper maintenance of parks. People are working longer hours than ever before and are finding it difficult to take out the time for themselves, in addition to this; people who have time and go out for a stroll find unpleasant conditions of the public parks,ruining their experience of walking. For instance, an article in Times Of India stated that most of the public parks in residential areas of Mumbai lack proper walking tracks and restroom facilities resulting in lesser footfall. One more article suggested that due to improper maintenance of the public parks people opt for treadmills in their local gyms. Therefore, the tighter working hours and poor experience of parks often deprive people of benefits of walking these days. Maintaining work-life balance by individuals and improving the conditions of public parks by government, can help more people to take numerous advantages of walking in their life. People must understand that spending only an hour from their busy life daily on walking can keep them more active and in turn improve their work efficiency. The local municipal should improve the conditions of local parks in their area of jurisdiction by proper maintenance and providing essential facilities in order to encourage people for walking in these parks. Therefore, managing time for themselves by working section of society and the improved infrastructure of parks by authorities are the main solutions to problems discussed. In conclusion, these days the number of people walking has decreased even though walking is known to be an age-old practice followed by people to keep themselves fit. This essay discussed the reasons why people have become reluctant towards walking caused by the busy schedule and poor facilities in parks. This also suggested that work-life balance and better park maintenance can help to get rid of these problems.