Some people think that the only way to be successful in business is to have a unique product. Discuss if you agree or disagree.

It’s true that a unique offering does provide a business with that coveted edge in the marketplace however, there are several other nuances involved to make a business successful. I feel the entire credit cannot be attributed to only one variable in the mix. Firstly, my essay will throw light upon the fact that having proprietary rights of a valuable product is not the defining factor for any organisation. Secondly, I will present to you my opinion on what truly makes any business successful. Any organisation's success depends on how they have developed their go to market strategy. There are a series of factors that must be controlled by any business to influence consumers to purchase their product. Several marketing professionals have widely spoken about Philip Kotler’s ‘4 P’s marketing mix.’ Any company that is flourishing today has mastered these 4 P’s; which are product, price, place and promotion. For any value offering to be successful it needs to be priced competitively after studying what your consumer is willing to pay for it, then qualitative research must be conducted to ascertain where is your target market and how you must devise smart promotional strategies to rope them in successfully. Now let us look at what truly evolved organisations are investing their valued time on to emerge as winners. Stakeholders is the keyword here, especially integral are your employees at your workplace and how you are keeping their morale up, to work harder and ultimately make your company successful. I truly believe any great business has great minds behind it keeping the wheels in motion. There are several theories that support my hypothesis and advocate that in today’s time the 4P’s are actually 7P’s which add people, positioning and packaging to the marketing mix. Look at google for example it is one of the most sought-after firms in the world, while at the same time it features on every list as one of the happiest workplaces. Do you not see a correlation here that simply stated satisfied employees will work harder as they have a sense of ownership towards the organisation and thus will make your companies health soar in any scenario. In conclusion we can observe from the views I have collated that you need much more than just a unique offering to be successful in the marketplace. And businesses should focus on creating stimulating workplaces for the most important stakeholder, who once unified with your approach will help you achieve the desired goals. I thus completely disagree with the statement.