Some people think basic healthcare should be free for everyone. Others believe people should pay their own medical costs. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Primary healthcare is one of the most critical components of a healthy, prosperous society. Because of its high cost, however, there is an ongoing debate as to whether wellness programs should be free or whether individuals should be responsible for paying their health fees. On the one hand, there is a belief that basic healthcare should be virtually free. One reason for this is that because health is a fundamental requirement for a functional society, governments should front the bill for healthcare services. Another reason for free healthcare is the sheer unaffordability of health services. While wealthier people may be able to pay out of their own pocket without too much trouble, the impoverished may skip going to the doctor even when necessary because they cannot afford it. This results in a less vigorous society overall. On the other hand, there are strong arguments as to why healthcare should be paid for by the individuals that use it. One argument is that having to pay for your medical services creates an incentive to stay healthy. If people feel that they can receive medical care for free, they are less likely to take care of themselves. Another related argument is that healthy people should not be subsidizing the cost of healthcare for those who make poor lifestyle choices. That is a person who exercises every day should not have their taxes used for the health costs of a person who refuses to exercise out of laziness. Having looked at both sides, I feel that an ideal solution is for governments to reduce the costs of healthcare so that everyone can afford to pay their medical expenses. If we can fix the affordability problems associated with healthcare without removing the incentives to stay healthy, we will be better off in the long run.