The number of older people is increasing. Some people think this is causing problems in their countries while others feel that older people play an important role in society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is widely believed that today, the world population is mostly conformed by old people. Some people argue that this trend is causing some issues in their countries, whereas others said that older people contribute significantly to society. This essay will discuss why some people consider the elderly population as a problem and why others believe that they are a fundamental part of society. On the one hand, when people become older, they require more attention and care. Elderly people deal with more diseases and health problems. Therefore, they need expensive therapies and procedures to stay alive. For example, in Colombia, a vast number of people are old. The government there invest a big part of their economical resources in age care. This creates a shortage of money for other fields such as education. Secondly, some people in a household have to take responsibility for their elderly relatives. Consequently, they have to give up their personal projects and dreams as they have to look after the elderly most of the time. On the other hand, older people are able to share and provide important insights into the youth. Elderly people tend to have more experience in life's matters. For example, recent studies have shown that grandparents play a fundamental role in their grandchildren's life, as they transmit useful knowledge that expands kids' mind. Last but not least, a lot of nurses and doctor are benefited from elderly people. If there are more old people in society, more age care centres and facilities might be needed. Therefore, nurses and doctors will be required to work. In conclusion, Although old people require more attention and care than the rest of the population in a country, they help society in several ways. If the number of older people does not increase, perhaps the world will be different in a negative way.