Government should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree.

It is argued by some people that the national budget of a country should be spent more on the educational facilities rather than the entertainment and games amenities. It is agreed that government funding must be distributed to more on education than on other sectors. This essay will firstly discuss the economic benefit that can be achieved through investing in the ducational sector, and secondly discuss the social benefit that a country can gain; followed by a reasoned conclusion. A good reason to spend money on schools, colleges, universities and research institutes is the desire to build a developed country. The more educated person a nation has, the more economic growth that country enjoys. This is because knowledgeable people always use their brain to improve their country ’s socio-economic condition by inventing new products, rules or policies. This is illustrated by the fact that Singapore’s GDP increased to 20% in 2013, whereas it was only 10% in 2000. This had been achieved because of giving focus on education. Another point to consider is that educated people are more aware of criminal activities and possess strong moral values compared to uneducated people. Therefore, spending more money on education helps a government to build a crime-free and strong ethical country in a convenient way. For example, an empirical study in 2019 conducted by Cambridge University found that Japanese government always gives priorities on education from the primary level to tertiary level. In conclusion, this essay supports the idea of allocating more money on a country ’s educational system rather than on entertainment or sports because of having many economic and social benefits.