The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree

It is believed that the most effective solution to combat environmental issues is to raise fuel prices. While I accept that this measure could have some effects in the short term, I believe that raising people’s environmental awareness is the best approach to deal with these problems. On the one hand, I think that increasing fuel costs such as petrol, oil, and natural gas could help tackle/ address some of the world’s environmental problems nowadays. Firstly, industries especially power plants might find alternative energy sources such as nuclear or renewables to replace fossil fuels. This would lead to less greenhouse gas and emission eliminated/ released into the atmosphere, mitigating global warming and air pollution. Another point that needs to be mentioned is that rising fuel prices mean that commuting costs would climb. Therefore, people might take public transport, carpool or cycle to work instead of/ rather than using their private vehicles, which help to reduce the amount of exhaust fume released/ produced into the environment. On the other hand, i strongly believe that raising the cost of fuel is not the best option for various reasons. In recent years, the cost of fuel has climbed, but the number of private cars has increased at alarming rates. Thus, I believe that in order to properly solve environmental problems, we must raise public awareness about the importance of protecting the earth. When everyone is aware of this, they would already take actions to tackle environmental pollution and other related issues. In conclusion, although raising the price of fuel used for travelling to address traffic and pollution problems is advantageous in some ways, I would argue that there are a number of solutions that can be replaced