The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centers. It is feared that this trend can bring negative influences on the youths and the society. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalization has facilitated shopping centres to have a plethora of options ranging from clothing to gaming under one roof. Owing to it, shopping centres have seen a spike in young visitors, which is deemed to be a negative development by many. I opine that, while extensive time spent in malls could be detrimental for the future generations, regulated and purposeful visits could still reap benefits. Shopping centres houses various facilities under one roof, making it a one -stop solution for a wide range of needs. If there is a place, where one can watch a movie and do grocery shopping within the same visit, it would attract the crowd. Concurrently, the younger generation is always looking for better mousetraps to save time, and malls provide the same. For instance, based on an Oxford research, on average, the variety of shops in a shopping centre in the US, have increased by 400% over the past decade. Thus, by overlapping leisure time and household chores shopping centre presents itself as a viable and effective option. On the flip side, the side effects of the aforementioned effectiveness can' t be ignored. People tend to bottleneck their options based on what the nearby shopping centre offers, clouding their judgement due to the ease of availability. For example, libraries have seen a steep decline in visitors, as it isn' t one the facility your nearby mall can provide. So, while the proposition of malls addresses some needs it can' t address all like, parks and playgrounds. In conclusion, the threat of negative influences of malls is a reality, but a sane choice of visits after weighing the options at hand can reduce it. Also, shopping centres have been a boon in resolving quite a few problems our society, avoiding them due to dogmatic opinions wouldn' t be fair.