A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The perspectives on the rights of animals vary widely. Some people are convinced that wildlife has the same rights as humans and that we can not exploit them, whereas others believe that animals serve as a good source of various needs. As far as I am concerned, I am strongly in favor of the latter, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated as follows. On the one hand, sharing the same rights as humans protects animals significantly, which is beneficial to maintaining a diverse ecosystem. That is to say, many species can be prevented from disappearing forever. For instance, if the promotion of this idea had begun earlier, individuals in Eastern Africa might have stopped poaching ivories timely, ensuring endangered local elephants could survive until now. Secondly, this policy enhances people’s sympathy and willingness to give in the long term, as we tend to cherish and respect lives far more than previous. On the other hand, it is challenging for people to accept animals rights. First of all, the vast majority of people nowadays enjoy meals with meat almost every day. This behavior might be attributed to consuming enough daily protein for the human body or merely individual preferences that have developed for a long time. Therefore, offering animals rights seems impractical due to our dining habits. Additionally, taking advantage of animals is inevitable for academic purposes. For example, doctors need research data to find solutions to cancers or influenza, which typically kills a great number of animals for related experiments. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, employing animals to fulfill our needs is unavoidable due to our eating habits and scientific research.