Home is the basic necessity of everyone. A government should provide home to those who cannot afford it. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Practice and experience have always been the engine to humankind’s development. Building residential places for the needy is the need of the hour. A group of people opine that the civic bodies should provide homes to poor people, while others argue otherwise. I deem that it is the fundamental rights of the municipality to construct houses for those who are not able to purchase it. Your heart is where your home is and donating houses for the needy is necessary for the contemporary era. First of all, owing to natural calamities such as earthquakes, floods et cetera many people are displaced from their homes. In addition to this, there are many people who are homeless and poor who live in desperate poverty. For example, in India, there are many people who live in extreme poverty in slums. Secondly, building homes for such needy people not only improve their living conditions but also helps in delivering a bright future and eradicating poverty. Moreover, the city’s aesthetic look improves as there are fewer slums and people with better living conditions helps in either reducing the spread of diseases or helps in providing better sanitation. To illustrate, the Pakistani ministry built houses for the poor so the sanitation improved in the vicinity and adjacent areas. Although building houses for the displaced is necessary some consider it as a waste of public funds. To begin with, as the authority provides either free or subsidized homes for the poor and needy the sales of private housing falls. Furthermore, there is relentless amongst the people to purchase houses as the rule would eventually be building houses for them thus dependence on the power increases. To recapitulate, building houses is necessary for the weak and needy as their family is facing various economic hardships and building living places for the masses is the initiative that the state must start.