With advancing technology, the development of automated vehicles is becoming reality. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of self-driving vehicles?

In this contemporary era, AI has given lots of developmental changes with the ongoing technological aspects and self-driven vehicles are one of them. This essay intends to draw attention to both the pros and cons of automation. To commence with, there are several reasons why automated vehicles play a significant role. A common reason is that it improves the efficiency of the supply chain product, which automatically indulges the economic benefits. Besides, it mitigates the employment demand, so it helps in cost cutting which proportionally drops the price of market goods for consumers. Moreover, this technology acts as the best time saver as it does not require any sort of recruitment strategy for the labour sector. For instance,it is reported by Amazon that by utilising the usage of self-driving trucks for transport, Amazon's labour costs decreased by 15% in the year 2019. On the other side of the spectrum, the implementation of self-driven technology also brings many disadvantages. The first thing is that it directly affects the labour market of the drivers as their specialised skill of driving would be replaced by artificial intelligence, these drivers have become redundant, leading to unemployment which puts a burden on the government. For example, according to one report from Germany 1000 truck drivers were unemployed and replaced by automated vehicles. In conclusion, Automated mobiles may give us the benefits, and their negative consequences can be overlooked. However, automated trucks may have detrimental effects on the staple lifestyle of the truck driver which might lead to trouble in the near future.