Government spending on restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a debatable topic these days that whether the government should cease to expend their funds on the renovation of old structures or spend more money on the construction of new homes and improve the condition of roads. I strongly agree with the latter and points to bolster my opinion will be elucidated in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, with the on-growing population across the world, demand to build shelters for poor people in order to have a sustainable living is on a rise. Furthermore, spending money on new residential buildings will impart a feeling of safety among the general public. Additionally, the number of accidents due to the dilapidated condition of roads has increased substantially over a period of time. This calls for immediate action by the authorities to improve the conditions of roads and flyovers. For example, as per a recent survey conducted by Delhi University showed that the number of deaths across the city due to road rage has reduced by 50% owing to improved road conditions. On the other hand, the government authorities should spend some of its capitals to restore the heritage sites as these attract a lot of international visitors. This would increase the revenue of the local tourism industry which eventually helps to boost the economy of a country in a longer run. For example, the number of tourists visiting the famous Humayun tomb in Delhi has increased by 40% after its renovation last year. In conclusion, while the ministry should not neglect the reparation of the ancient buildings, I firmly believe that it is more vital for the local authorities to focus on improving pathways and build more accommodations for the needy.