Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In most countries, the usage of mobile phones is limited in educational institutions. Although these devices can play a significant role in safety, connectedness and even in learning, in my point of view this is a positive step. It can bring benefits, in academics as well as in physical and social aspects. Firstly, regulated use of cell phones in the classroom itself helps in improving learning simply because without these devices there are far fewer distractions for teachers and students. For instance, when a student has a cell phone on his lap or in his pocket there will be a constant urge to look for new messages which will hinder learning. Moreover, it distracts other students and the teacher with sounds and actions, which can have a long term adverse impact on academic progress. A complete ban on mobile phones during class frees learners from compulsive checking and allows them to focus. In addition, banning of phones on campus will improve the physical and social activities of students. For example, during lunch break, they could play sports, games or simply sit and chat together, activities that are far healthier than sitting alone over a screen. Without enforcement, school children simply can't draw the line by themselves on their phone use. This helps students become stronger and more rounded in their development. To conclude, albeit phones are a part of our modern life, I strongly feel that their use in schools should be curtailed with firm boundaries and bans in some situations. Students will then be able to learn better, strengthen friendships and engage in healthier pursuits.