In come countires, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. why might this be the case? do you think this is a positive or negetive situation?

I hear people complaining all around the world that buying a home is impossible these days and that owning a place is crucial for them. As a nomad myself, I believe that having a place to live gives a lot of positivity, however, this also brings some negative aspects to one's life. When turning thirty, all you can hear around is friends buying homes to create stability in their lives. Having a permanent place means feeling more grounded, responsible and stable in life, which is like a well-deserved achievement. To illustrate this, many Americans nowadays live in their parents' basement with no regular job or enriching activities that make it impossible to buy a property due to the anxiety of the housing market and depressing isolation. Therefore, everyone who is capable of owning a property, creates a quality of life that others cannot or do not want to afford. Financial advisers debate whether it is more economically viable, in the short term, to live in an owned property or keep renting. Taxes and banking systems in some countries are favourable for youth buying homes, which gives a similar financial burden as renting. For instance, in Lithuania, it is calculated that getting a loan from a bank and buying a house is cheaper or as equal as monthly rent prices. There are more countries like Lithuania that support housing, but within years it is getting more complicated due to inflation and global trends. Renting a home, on the other hand, gives more flexibility and releases from responsibility. As travelling is accessible and convenient, a transient lifestyle is getting increasingly popular. Taking me as an example, if I had a home of my own in Lithuania, I would not be living in many countries and exploring different cultures. Renting a place that is made for oneself is emotionally hard to give up, which is why sometimes it feels easier to invest in oneself rather than property. To conclude, I believe that having a permanent home is a goal for everyone - it gives stability, a place to raise a family and it releases from the rent in an older age. On the contrary, it does not support the youth spirit and might constrain one from discovering oneself and the world.