People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people can eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, It is very common for customers to find almost all the available vegetables and fruits at their local supermarkets. Their options are no longer restricted to the local produce. I utterly agree that this trend merits would overweigh its disadvantages. This essay will opine my reasons using relative illustrations. To begin the deliberation, In many areas weather conditions are not favourable for the plantation of any type of crop. For instance, Middle Eastern countries, they are situated in a desert, where the rates of vegetation are very low compare to the other parts of the world. But they are the main producer of crude oil, which is then traded with countries like Australia to import the food items in exchange for oil. Just like this many countries have gotten into an agreement of exchanging of their local products, so that their citizen can enjoy each other's local delicacy. Similarly, People are given a diverse variety of food options to choose from as per their dietary needs. They do not have to restrict themselves to only consume their homegrown products. They have more choices, when it comes to food. For example, in past vegetarian people living in predominately meat consumption societies were restricted to fewer vegetables at the local markets. Thus, this all has evolved due to good supply chain management of all types of grocery items. Although, there is a drawback of this trend as in some areas there is a huge drop in sales of locally produced items. For instance, In recent years, Malaysian vendors incurred major loses on their locally produced Durian fruit as Thailand's produced supersede it in demand. Hence, people stop buying their country produce fruit as other countries fruit tasted better. To conclude, despite the preceding argument, I support the view that there are various advantages of this trend in comparison to its drawbacks. I believe, it is good for our consumer to have a luxury of enjoying all kinds of fruits and vegetables produce regardless of their geographical location and this will also present the opportunity to local farmers to find their larger customer base for their products.