Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Athletes represent their motherland overseas and it is imperative that such sports personalities religiously follow the ethics of the respective game to the highest standard. In this regard, a few people assert that male and female athletes could be allowed to exhibit ill-behaviours on or outside the ground unless and until they are performing extremely well in the game. I completely disagree with this notion, as it can be extremely detrimental for the upcoming sports enthusiasts and also could immensely harm the reputation of the nation to which these people belong. To begin with, in countries such as India, sports personalities are overwhelmingly adored by a myriad of sports followers and it is indispensable that those professionals should always abide by the code of conduct stipulated by sports authorities. If performers are it men or women violate the norms of the sport and behave unprofessionally on the playfield or outside the stadium premises, it would impart such adverse behaviours into the minds of developing players and they might eventually tend to replicate the same although the performance could unique and top-notch. Moreover, these players would undoubtedly bring excess damage to the game and might avert the audience to witness those games. This is one reason why games such as Rugby are not widely watched by many, as it is bound to hurt players physically on the field as well as during practise sessions outside the field, even though the game is extremely entertaining and the goals being scored by players are surplus. Furthermore, if sports professionals continue to be unprofessional, be it in the stadium or off it, some of the atrocious fans too tend to exhibit such unacceptable characteristics which could spark frightening clashes amongst the young audience, which eventually ends up in huge devastation of public property as well to the lives of the innocent audience. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, when fans tend to get extremely curious and obsessed with the game, any minor injury to their favourite player owing to disrespectful behaviour by opponents such as pushing or hitting in soccer could cause fans to abuse or fight with the supporters of the opponent team. Secondly, in games such as women wrestling, where a female wrestler has to physically combat the opponent, some female players occasionally consume drugs to defeat the opposition. Even though this is apparent and visible to many audiences, those players, regardless of the negative consequences, continue to consume drugs and battle the opponent. Clearly, such practices are extremely detrimental and must be abstained. To sum up, although a section of the society cites that is absolutely ethical for players to misbehave during the game or outside until the game is played efficiently and well, I am against this notion. This could not only cause conflicts among sports fans but also might result in the devastation of public property as well to the lives of many followers.