Some argue that schools are no longer necessary because children learn so much from the Internet and can be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often asserted that children no longer need to go to school as a wide range of information is available on the web, which has made online-learning easier than ever. I, however, strongly disagree with this opinion and believe that despite some benefits of web-learning, schools play a vital role in a child’s education. To begin with, the importance of classroom learning for a child is highly significant. They get to meet their friends with whom not only can they have group discussions but enjoy several sports as well. So, their communication skills and general fitness levels are refined. For example, in Japan, schools are given so much value for these reasons that the Japanese encourage children to start going to schools from as early as four years. If more parents acknowledge the importance of school-based education, distance-learning would soon become obsolete. How would the knowledge of children be assessed in home-based learning? Notwithstanding the part played by schools in enriching the communication skills and health status in general, the role of school exams in evaluating the command of students over the taught subjects cannot be denied. A continuous assessment system enables students to focus better on studies in the pursuit of higher grades in exams; for instance, according to a recent survey conducted in the US, more parents stated exams to be the primary reason of giving preference to school-based learning for their children. In conclusion, while the technological advancement has rendered web-learning as a new form of education, I totally oppose it and believe that schools can never be replaced by distance-education and will always continue to be essential for a child’s learning.