Cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport, but it is becoming less popular. Why? Are there any solutions to make cycling more popular?

Although cycling is beneficial for both people’s health and the environment, fewer people opt for this kind of vehicle. In this essay, I will name some causes for this trend and suggest several feasible solutions to promote the usage of bicycles. There are many reasons for the unpopularity of bicycles. Firstly, since people in modern society are becoming busier with hectic schedules, they want to reduce the amount of time spent on travelling, which means that individuals might use other private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes to save commute time. Secondly, riding a bike is more physically demanding compared to other vehicles powered by gas or electricity so it tends to discourage people from using this method of transportation, especially in extreme weather conditions. Several practical measures could be taken to increase the popularity of bicycles. The first solution would be imposing higher tax on petrol-powered vehicles, which makes commuters more reluctant when opting for these means of transportation. In addition, to promote the use of bicycles, authorities could build cycling lanes to prevent the potential dangers of colliding with other vehicles. As a result, people can enjoy their trips without worrying about accidents. Finally, governments should launch campaigns to raise the public’s awareness about the benefits of using bicycles and the harmful effects of motorbikes and cars on the environment, and this could encourage people to cycle more often. In conclusion, because of the fast pace of life and the physical strength that riding bicycles requires, the popularity of bicycles has decreased recently. However, the government could take some actions to make cycling a more pleasant experience.