Some believe that reading is always a goof habit. Others feel it depends on which books a person ir reading. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some consider reading to be always a great habit. However, I agree with those who believe that it mostly depends on which type of book is being read. On the one hand, reading can benefit a person greatly in terms of building their vocabulary and imagination capabilities. While reading on a daily basis one is exposed to new words and phrases, eventually memorising them. Thus, a big vocabulary may boost a person's self-esteem and increase their writing and social skills. Another important thing to consider is imagination. It is not a secret that reading develops imagination which in turn allows the development of creativity, problem-solving and other vital life skills. However, I tend to agree with those who believe that reading is a good habit depending on which book a person is reading. First of all, a book can have a poor plot or an overall meaning, therefore, a person will not gain any particularly useful information, fun or a lesson from this book and will just waste time. Second of all, nowadays a lot of books contain some unreliable information that can harm a person ’s life or teach them something bad. For example, if one has a habit of reading “scientific” books with really inaccurate or even deceptive content, it will eventually decrease their intellect and overall respect in society. This is true not only for science-oriented literature but for fiction and other genres too. Taking everything into consideration, it is my conviction that reading is not always a beneficial habit. Despite all the positive aspects of reading, it can also be harmful if books are poorly plotted, meaningless or their content is deceptive and dubious.