More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Presently, students are interested in studying in foreign educational institutions for their higher studies. To study in abroad has some positive impacts on the students, however, there are some negative factors as well. One evident advantageous side of having further education in a foreign land is to be able to learn from teachers who are expert in their respected fields. In other words, pupils not only get the chance to be educated in a renowned institute but also they are able to learn from famous teachers, thus, this enhances the opportunity to get better jobs in future. Secondly, while studying in oversea lands, one get introduced with international people, therefore, they get to know about different languages and cultures of various countries around the world. For example, the University of British Columbia gives admission to more than thousand students each year from all over the world who come to study in a particular campus and get to know about each other and enrich their knowledge about others. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of higher studies in abroad such as loss of talent, cultural and traditional values, loneliness etc. Since one goes to another country for higher studies, he tends to settle there because of the jobs availability and living patterns. Hence, in their absence, their parents become lonely as they eventually become dependent on their children. Furthermore, the students living in a different land for the purpose of education, start to detach from their motherland and lose touch with their cultural and traditional values. For instance, the original language of old Dhaka is becoming extinct at present due to the migration of people in other areas around the universe. To conclude, although getting further education in an oversea university or college has some drawbacks, there is numerous advantageous side for this which outweighs all the disadvantages.