Cyber-bullying and cybercrimes are seen to be on the rise today. What are the causes for this? What are the solutions for this problem?

Technological advancement has made us do everything remotely, thus the increase in cybercrimes doesn't come as a surprise. Apparently, the significant increase in cyber-bullying and cyber crimes has certain reasons around it and possible solutions. The notable reasons would be a lack of awareness within people about these crimes and no proper channel to report such hefty issues to the government. Individuals using online banking don’t understand the need for setting a difficult password, logging out every time and to identify a scam or a scammer. In the case of cyber-bullying, Public doesn't know any trustworthy way to address their harassment, they are concerned about the identity being revealed as it just adds fuel to the fire. For example, A recent study suggests that most of the female users face online harassment but they just ignore as it could bring limelight on them when reported. Possible solutions could be educating the general public about online crimes involving finances. Strict rules should be imposed on the companies in the finance sector to create awareness on crime to its customers. Here, television and newspaper ads would be the best way to reach the last mile. All the online social-networking or search engine platforms should have a simple method to detail bullying in a click to the police officials or a representative. It should allow the person to hide their identity and be contacted only when legislative action is required. To conclude, computerized attacks cannot be voided out but when the government handles the offence more efficiently, it could definitely be controlled to a large extent. Also creating awareness and providing them with an easier way to report abuses will help people identify any cyber scams and be preventive in future.